Zaragoza, also called Saragossa in English, is the capital city of the region of Aragon and the former Crown of Aragon, Spain. It is the fifth largest city in Spain with 700,000 inhabitants. The city lies at an altitude of 199 metres above the sea level, and constitutes a crossroads between Madrid, Barcelona, Valencia, Bilbao and Toulouse (France).

The city is famous for its folklore, a renowned local gastronomy, its trilogy of landmarks (the Basílica del PilarLa Seo Cathedral and The Aljafería Palace) Together with La Seo and the Aljaferia, several other buildings form part of the Mudéjar Architecture of Aragon which is a UNESCO World Heritage Site. The Fiestas del Pilar are among the most celebrated festivals in Spain.

For further information about Zaragoza and Aragón you can visit the following sites:

Useful information:

Climate: Zaragoza has a continental mediterranean climate, very dry, with cold winters and hot summers. Detailed weather forecasts can be found at Aemet website.

Time zone: GMT+1 (Summer GMT+2)

Language: Few Spaniards speak another European language. However, you will normally find somebody who can speak English or French in airports, large hotels, etc.

Shopping hours: Shops are open from 10 to 14 and from 17 to 20, Mondays through Saturdays. Department stores and malls usually open from 10 to 22 and do not close for lunch. Shops open eight Sundays a year.

Banks: They open from Monday to Friday from 8.30 to 14.00. Some banks (cajas de ahorro-building societies) open Thursday afternoon (not during summer). Other banks open Saturday morning.